Colts History

The original Murwillumbah Junior Rugby League Football Club was based at Stan Sercombe Oval, currently occupied by our senior club the Murwillumbah Mustangs. Their colours were predominantly orange with blue and white.

In 1980 the club was split into 3 junior clubs and amalgamated with the town’s 3 senior clubs, Murwillumbah Brothers, Murwillumbah Old Boys, and South Murwillumbah .

In 1982 the long standing, John Conaghan Shield commenced in recognition to John Conaghan’s contribution to Junior Rugby League in the area. The carnival was hosted and run by Murwillumbah’s 3 junior clubs, Murwillumbah Colts now host the carnival as a prelude to the new season.

In 1984 the South Murwillumbah senior club moved to Cabarita, the juniors followed in 1987, and are known as Tweed Coast Raiders.

Murwillumbah Brothers and Murwillumbah Old Boys amalgamated in 1992 to form the present Murwillumbah Colts Junior Rugby League Football Club {JRLFC}, with the home ground being at Murwillumbah Leagues Club in Dorothy Street, Murwillumbah.

Derek Brouwer who has been a great ambassador for Junior Rugby League in Murwillumbah was at the helm in the Presidents chair at the formation of Murwillumbah Colts JRLFC.

Over the years Colts have won a number of premierships and contributed significantly to the development of Junior Rugby in the Tweed Valley.

Colts have had a number of players who have gone onto higher honours in Rugby League: Anthony Lafranchi, Luke Covell, Damian Quinn, Troy Pezet and Ryan Foran.

Murwillumbah Colts Logo
The Best Junior Rugby League Team in the Tweed Shire